‘Survivor: Hall of Fame’ 2013 Ballot – Challenge Producer John Kirhoffer


'Survivor' Challenge Producer John Kirhoffer (CBS)

UPDATE: Voting for the “Survivor” Hall of Fame Class of 2013 has ended. Please come back Wednesday, December 11, 2013 to meet the first inductee. And, follow @survivorhall on Twitter for up-to-the-minute updates.

The “Survivor” Hall of Fame is proud to have John Kirhoffer as a member of the Executive Voting Committee. As a member of this exclusive committee, John (along with Host Jeff Probst and other “Survivor” luminaries) has accepted an awesome responsibility. The committee’s votes will make up 50% of the final tally for entry into the prestigious Class of 2013. The other 50% will come from “Survivor” fans like you.

[xfinity-record-button id=”6541379645042428112″ program_type=”series” cid=”45576771592″]

John Kirhoffer is the brain behind some of  “Survivor’s” most difficult and exciting challenges. After 13 years and more than 27 seasons, John continues to design and execute innovative challenges that never fail to impress. His commitment, attention to detail and dedication to creating some of the best challenges on TV are a critical part of “Survivor’s” continued success. With hundreds of challenges on his resume, he credits “Boulder Dash” from season three (Africa) and “Vertical Maze” from season nine (Vanuatu – Islands of Fire) among his favorites.

John Kirhoffer’s 2013 Hall of Fame Ballot

Well, at the top of my 2013 list…John Cochran (“Survivor: South Pacific” and “Survivor: Caramoan – Fans vs. Favorites”).

John Cochran represents the underdog and exemplifies hope and humility. The kid who was bullied, by Ozzy and the other Savaii “cool kids”, and then received his revenge later with the ultimate “Survivor” crown and a million bucks. His superpower was not in his physical prowess, but in his intellect. He went from student of the game to master of the game, and along the way gave the audience an abundance of great sound bites, sage revelations, and hilarious insights. In my mind, Cochran is a “Survivor” Hall of Fame slam dunk.

I will AGAIN this year nominate Benjamin “Coach” Wade (“Survivor: Tocantins,” “Survivor: Heroes vs. Villains” and “Survivor: South Pacific”).

I love Coach Ben Wade. Truly one of the greatest characters in our shows 27-season history.  I put Coach in the Hall of Fame for his authenticity, entertainment value, and personal evolution. In Tocantins, Coach truly provided the bulk of the audience chuckles, laughs, and grimaces. Love him or hate him, Coach was genuine. As time went by, we saw Coach “The Dragon Slayer” peel away layers until we saw Coach, the morally conflicted soul. He wore “honor” like a glittery cape in Tocantins, and by the final Tribal Council in South Pacific, “honor” was the burden that haunted him and weighed him down…costing him a million dollars. I believe it’s time to enshrine “Coach” in the Hall of Fame!

Finally, I nominate a true “Survivor” icon, Rudy Boesch (“Survivor: Borneo” and “Survivor: All Stars”).

I’m trying to imagine an actual, physical “Survivor” Hall of Fame without a bronze bust of Rudy Boesch surrounded by iconic photos and video clips. I believe the casting of Rudy on “Survivor” one is the biggest reasons for the show’s success. The 70-year-old, hard-as-nails homophobe who befriends the outspoken, naked, gay guy exemplified what we (universally) all should believe; “Don’t judge books by their covers.”

Rudy IS the “Survivor” patriarch. An American hero, a true competitor, and a genuine larger-than-life character. What he lacked in his strategic game, he made up for in grit and real-life experience. When Rudy spoke, America related. Who wasn’t cheering him on in the end of season one? Hall of Fame committee, do you really want to continue building this institution without one of its most prominent founding fathers? Include Rudy in the 2013 Hall of Fame.

Those are my thoughts. Thanks for listening.

Other Ballots:

‘Survivor’ Executive Producer and Host Jeff Probst

‘Survivor’ Producer Jesse Jensen

2010 Hall of Fame Inductee Parvati Shallow

2010 Hall of Fame Inductee Russell Hantz

2011 Hall of Fame Inductee Cirie Fields


Voting for the “Survivor” Hall of Fame Class of 2013 has ended. Please come back Wednesday, December 11, 2013 to meet the first inductee. And, follow @survivorhall on Twitter for up-to-the-minute updates.

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: